Little Flock Primitive Baptist Church Edwardsville Illinois


A Brief History of Little Flock Primitive Baptist Church

Organization and Constitution

November 21, 1965 – The group interested in forming a church officially met for the first time.

January 23, 1966 – 10 people gave their names as willing to organize the new church. Constitution and organization of the church was set for Saturday before 5th Sunday in May, 1966.

March 13, 1966 – The group accepted the Rules of Decorum, Articles of Faith, and Church Constitution.

March 27, 1966 – The group decided to call the church Little Flock Primitive Baptist Church.

May 28, 1966 – Little Flock Primitive Baptist Church was constituted and organized in Alton, IL. The presbytery was comprised of seven elders and eleven deacons. Elder James Harris was moderator and Elder Orvel Prior was clerk of the Presbytery. Fourteen presented letters and three were received by baptism. The church elected Elder James Harris as pastor


April 22, 1967 – Ordained Bro. Fred Lewis and Robert Baker as deacons.

April 22, 1989 – Ordained Bro. Clayton Nowell as an elder.

September 22, 1990 – Ordained Bro. Paul Reynolds and Tom Lewis as deacons.

June 9, 2007 – Ordained Bro. John Yadamec as an elder.


February 22, 1969 – Began Meeting at the Masonic Hall in Bethalto.

September 25, 1971 – Voted to use Liberty Prairie Presbyterian Church building.

October 26, 1985 – Voted to purchase current building and property.

November 16, 1985 – Began meeting in the current building.


1966-1992 – Elder James Harris

1992-1996 – Elder Clayton Nowell

1997-2000 – Elder Leon Surbaugh

2003-2008 – Elder Chris Crouse

2011-Present – Elder Robert Adam